Skip to main content

December 2020 & January 2021

NSF Virtual Workshop

We are pleased to announce that the NSF workshop, New Frontiers of Thermal Transport, has been rescheduled as a virtual workshop that will take place in December 2020 and January 2021.  Registration is now open and you can register through the Register link. We will post updates on the conference throughout the semester, so please check back often. We appreciate your support of this virtual event.

  • 00Days
  • 00Hours
  • 00Minutes
  • 00Seconds

December 14 - 16, 2020

January 4 - 6, 2020

About this workshop

This workshop brings academicians, industry experts, researchers from national labs and program managers to brainstorm and develop a shared vision and a roadmap for the community

Panels of industry experts, researchers and program managers will discuss emerging challenges that will need to be resolved to enable future technological advancement

Outcome from participants breakout sessions and discussions will be presented and program managers will then have the opportunity to brainstorm about potential roadmaps


*Agenda is tentative — all dates and times are subject to change. Times are listed in Eastern Standard Time.

  • December 2020
  • January 2021

Dec. 14, 2020 — Artificial Intelligence, Quantum Computing and Data Science

11:00am to 2:00pm  ET

11:00am - 11:10am – Welcome and Opening Remarks
11:10am - 12:10pm – Panelist Presentations 
(Panelists: Jeffrey Snyder, Amir Barati Farimani, Peyman Givi, Simon Phillpot, Austin Minnich |
Moderators: Matteo Bucci, Yan Wang)
12:10pm - 1:00pm – Virtual Networking
1:00pm - 2:00pm – Breakout Sessions

Dec. 15, 2020 — Thermal Management

11:00am to 2:00pm ET

11:00am - 12:30pm – Panelist Presentations
(Panelists: Samuel Graham, Mark Spector, Ajit Roy, Evelyn Wang, Tim Fisher, Sumanta Acharya
Moderators: Damena Agonafer, Xiaojia Wang, Justin Weibel)
12:30pm - 1:00pm – Virtual Networking
1:00pm - 2:00pm – Breakout Sessions

Dec. 16, 2020 — Health and Sustainability

11:00am to 2:00pm ET

11:00am - 12:00pm – Panelist Presentations
(Panelists: John Bischof, Mehmet Toner, Esther Beltran, John Lienhard, Howard Stone, Cynthia Hipwell |
Moderators: Fatemeh Hassanipour, Dion Antao)
12:00pm - 1:00pm – Virtual Networking
1:00pm - 2:00pm – Breakout Sessions

Jan. 4, 2020 — Manufacturing

11:00am to 2:00pm ET

11:00am - 12:00pm – Panelist Presentations 
(Panelists: Karen Thole, Yung Shin, Kirk Rogers, Michael Ohadi, Bill Obricht |
Moderators: Edward Kinzel, Saniya Leblanc)
12:00pm - 1:00pm – Virtual Networking
1:00pm - 2:00pm – Breakout Sessions

Jan. 5, 2020 — Energy

11:00am to 2:00pm ET

11:00am - 12:30pm – Panelist Presentations 
(Panelists: Ravi Prasher, Karma Sawyer, Gang Chen, Matthew Bauer, Pramod Reddy, Terry J. Hendricks, Peter De Bock |
Moderators: Zhiting Tian, Iryna Zenyuk, Kareem Ahmed)
12:30pm - 1:00pm – Virtual Networking
1:00pm - 2:00pm – Breakout Sessions

Jan. 6, 2020 — Program Managers Panel, Reports from Moderators and Discussions

11:00am to 2:40pm ET

11:00am - 12:00pm – Program Managers Panel 
(Panelists: Michael Ohadi, Karma Sawyer, Peter De Bock, Matthew Bauer, Ying Sun)
12:00pm - 1:00pm – Virtual Networking
1:00pm - 2:30pm – Reports from Moderators, and Discussions
(Moderators: Shannon Yee, Amy Marconnet, Subith Vasu)
2:30pm - 2:40pm – Closing Remarks

Workshop Organizers

Yoav Peles

Chair, Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

University of Central Florida

Ying Sun

Program Director, CBET Division

National Science Foundation

Xiulin Ruan

Professor, Mechanical Engineering

Purdue University

Jonathan Malen

Professor, Mechanical Engineering

Carnegie Mellon University

Support and partnerships

Support for this workshop is provided by the National Science Foundation and partnerships include
Purdue University, Carnegie Mellon University and the University of Central Florida.