Skip to main content

Wu Named Reach for the Stars Honoree

April 1, 2024
Dazhong Wu and his team are transforming the way manufacturers use artificial intelligence to increase productivity and reduce costs. At his Additive Manufacturing and Intelligent Systems Lab at UCF, they work to develop real-time process monitoring solutions and machine learning models to prevent defects and errors as well as reveal complex process-structure-property relationships in additive manufacturing. […]

Kauffman Named Associate Fellow of American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics

December 15, 2023
Associate Professor Jeffrey Kauffman has been selected for the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) 2024 Class of Associate Fellows. This distinction is awarded to individuals who have contributed significant work of merit to the field. “It’s an honor to be selected as an Associate Fellow, and humbling, too — many collaborators and students […]

MAE Department Welcomes Three New Faculty Members This Academic Year

August 30, 2023
The UCF Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering welcomes three new faculty members to the department: Assistant Professor Yue Wen, Lecturer Perik Belin Giwa and Associate Professor Like Li, who will join in the spring. Wen brings an expertise in rehabilitation robotics and neuromechanics, Giwa specializes in piezoelectric materials and structures, while Li specializes in […]

7 MAE Faculty Awarded with Promotion and Tenure

July 18, 2023
One-hundred-forty-three UCF faculty members, including seven from the Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, recently achieved significant career milestones in earning promotions and tenure for the 2022-23 cycle. The approved faculty­ — 93 for promotion, 49 for promotion and tenure and one for tenure — underwent a rigorous evaluation of their work and performance by […]

Kapat Reappointed as Trustee Chair for 2023-28

July 6, 2023
A new professor has been named and two others reappointed to prestigious UCF trustee chair professorships that recognize faculty with national and international reputations for excellence and with extraordinary accomplishments in teaching, research and service. New trustee chair Ayman Abouraddy and reappointees Aristide Dogariu and Jayanta Kapat are among a handful of faculty members to […]